A Little Bit of Expat Experience in Every Chokladbollar

“The preparation of chokladbollar is usually quite consistent across the different cities, with only minimal variation from the traditional recipe. I decided to put together my passion for chocolate balls and my life as a Third Culture Kid, preparing chokladbollar with ingredients from all the places that I have lived in. Some of my recipes include in fact matcha (a strong green tea from Japan), kaya (coconut jam very common in Singapore and Malaysia), bakkwa (a Chinese salty-sweet dried pork jerky meat also typical in Singapore), and even s’mores (marshmallows and biscuits melted together, commonly eaten in the USA). I put a little bit of my expat experience in every chokladbollar I prepare!”

Alaine Handa

About the Book

I love the way Alaine’s experiences all around the world have come together in this literally sweet cookbook.

Tanya Crossman, author of Misunderstood

Raising Global Nomads – Smart and Practical

“In the tradition of Dave Pollock and Ruth E. Van Reken, Robin Pascoe examines all the issues about family expatriation in a global and ever changing world. She studies in a systematic way the steps that expatriated families encounter, i.e. the announcement of the departure to an unknown country, the settling, the search of the school, the health abroad, the repatriation to the (unknown) home country, etc. But Robin Pascoe’s book is much more than a simple guide for expatriate families and their children. On the basis of her own experience (she is the spouse of a Canadian diplomat and lived in China, South Korea and Singapore) and numerous testimonials scattered with humor and perceptiveness all around her book, the author give smart and practical advice in order to be better prepared to the challenge of parenting abroad and in a context of recurring expatriation. Raising Global Nomads is then a comprehensive, useful, lively and exciting book. A must read.”

Veronique Martin Place, author of Finding Your Feet in Chicago

BUY THE BOOK

New from Summertime Publishing – I’m Moving! by Sara Wallén

Here’s a book for children who are moving!

Moving can be both scary and exciting for the whole family. It can bring up many feelings. Some of these are feelings children have never experienced before. The success of a move is closely connected to how well prepared the whole family is.

I’m Moving! is a hands-on guide to help children prepare for a move and navigate the emotional highs and lows that come with it. From the moment the move is announced to the time when everyone is settled in the new home, I´m Moving! is an effective tool for personal growth, helping the child unpack the move and tie up any loose ends prior to moving. I’m Moving! offers a unique approach to exploring and reflecting on the move. For parents, I’m Moving! is a springboard for conversations with the child, facilitating important dialogues concerning the move. I’m Moving! is appreciated by families globally and is translated into three languages.

About the Book

Raising Global Teens

Q:  How can we raise our teens to thrive in a busy, mobile and diverse world?

A: Read Raising Global Teens, due out 2020

Adolescence is the perfect storm. During puberty, kids experience a cascade of physical and psychological changes in addition to issues such as depression and alcohol use. With globalization, adolescents have more exposure to new cultures, communities, mobility, and transition both physically and virtually. Globalization has led to more teens who have moved countries or changed communities during their childhood, are children of immigrants, or are expats. It has also led to more children like my own, born to parents from different ethnic backgrounds. Kids raised in such a mobile diverse world have significant benefits in terms of exposure to language, empathy, adaptability. However, they also may struggle with issues related to belonging, resolving conflict, addressing grief and progressing evenly through adolescence. This may be particularly challenging when it occurs during a time when there are significant issues related to identity formation and self-esteem.

ABOUT RAISING GLOBAL TEENS

 This book will provide important tools and strategies for parents, caregivers, and educators to help modern-day teens build resilience and successfully navigate adolescence. Raising Global Teens combines real world questions, practical examples, expert interviews and simple explanations grounded in research and science by an experienced pediatrician, and is written by a teen health specialist who has worked with young people addressing just these issues in a global context. Raising Global Teens starts with important basic concepts regarding global adolescence, puberty, and the teen brain, progresses to more difficult subjects such as substance use, depression, social media, and sexuality, and ends on a positive note with how to best to communicate with cross cultural teens, equip them to handle stress and build self-esteem and resilience. This book will be an easy-to-read handbook for the busy, modern-day parent, caregiver, or educator of a global teen. Raising Global Teens will be published by Summertime Publishing in Spring 2020.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

 Dr Anisha Abraham, MD, MPH is a board certified pediatrician and adolescent health specialist with 25 years of global experience.  Anisha treats and counsels young people with a variety of issues including social media use, drug use and stress.  As a recognized educator, Anisha provides training on adolescent health and wellness to faculty, teens and parents.

During her career, Anisha has served in a variety of roles including as Chief of Adolescent Medicine, a Lt Colonel in the US Army, and Medical Director of a school-based clinic. Anisha is currently based in Amsterdam, Netherlands and is on faculty at the University of Amsterdam and Georgetown University Hospital in Washington, DC.  On a personal note, Anisha knows what it’s like to face an ever-changing social landscape. She grew up in the United States as the daughter of South Asian immigrants and has lived with her husband and two kids in Asia, Europe and the US for the last ten years. She understands first-hand the challenges of moving from place to place with a family and experiencing different communities. She recognises that teens need tools and strategies to handle life’s challenges, be resilient and thrive in today’s fast paced environment.  As a physician, educator, and parent, Anisha helps teens to discover their strengths, focus on their wellbeing, and successfully navigate a changing world.

FIND OUT MORE

View Anisha’s Tedx Talk

Or subscribe at dranishaabraham.com

Sign up for the Global Teens FREE monthly newsletter