Little Bunny Dandelion Shows Children How to Make Friends Abroad

It’s that time of year again! Many of us are facing a move and we, as parents, wonder and worry about the impact it will have on our kids.  Most parents forget, though, that they can help their children make the transition by reading books to them about being on the move! Here are two books that enable young children to understand and cope with relocation. Little bunny Dandelion shows them how to make new friends abroad and how to bloom in a new place.

Angela Schreiner, author

Little Bunny Dandelion is moving House | Little bunny Dandelion discovers his favorite flower

 

A Little Bit of Expat Experience in Every Chokladbollar

“The preparation of chokladbollar is usually quite consistent across the different cities, with only minimal variation from the traditional recipe. I decided to put together my passion for chocolate balls and my life as a Third Culture Kid, preparing chokladbollar with ingredients from all the places that I have lived in. Some of my recipes include in fact matcha (a strong green tea from Japan), kaya (coconut jam very common in Singapore and Malaysia), bakkwa (a Chinese salty-sweet dried pork jerky meat also typical in Singapore), and even s’mores (marshmallows and biscuits melted together, commonly eaten in the USA). I put a little bit of my expat experience in every chokladbollar I prepare!”

Alaine Handa

About the Book

I love the way Alaine’s experiences all around the world have come together in this literally sweet cookbook.

Tanya Crossman, author of Misunderstood

Raising Global Nomads – Smart and Practical

“In the tradition of Dave Pollock and Ruth E. Van Reken, Robin Pascoe examines all the issues about family expatriation in a global and ever changing world. She studies in a systematic way the steps that expatriated families encounter, i.e. the announcement of the departure to an unknown country, the settling, the search of the school, the health abroad, the repatriation to the (unknown) home country, etc. But Robin Pascoe’s book is much more than a simple guide for expatriate families and their children. On the basis of her own experience (she is the spouse of a Canadian diplomat and lived in China, South Korea and Singapore) and numerous testimonials scattered with humor and perceptiveness all around her book, the author give smart and practical advice in order to be better prepared to the challenge of parenting abroad and in a context of recurring expatriation. Raising Global Nomads is then a comprehensive, useful, lively and exciting book. A must read.”

Veronique Martin Place, author of Finding Your Feet in Chicago

BUY THE BOOK

New from Summertime Publishing – I’m Moving! by Sara Wallén

Here’s a book for children who are moving!

Moving can be both scary and exciting for the whole family. It can bring up many feelings. Some of these are feelings children have never experienced before. The success of a move is closely connected to how well prepared the whole family is.

I’m Moving! is a hands-on guide to help children prepare for a move and navigate the emotional highs and lows that come with it. From the moment the move is announced to the time when everyone is settled in the new home, I´m Moving! is an effective tool for personal growth, helping the child unpack the move and tie up any loose ends prior to moving. I’m Moving! offers a unique approach to exploring and reflecting on the move. For parents, I’m Moving! is a springboard for conversations with the child, facilitating important dialogues concerning the move. I’m Moving! is appreciated by families globally and is translated into three languages.

About the Book